Skip Navigation LinksSFCC Home Page About SFCC Diversity on Campus Faculty/Staff Involvement

Faculty and Staff Involvement


DECCIO Excellence in Equity Award

The Deccio Excellence in Equity Award is an award in memory of Gary Deccio. Gary was an instructor in Human Services at SFCC who devoted his life to providing local community support services for families in distress and modeling his commitment to equity through fairness, dignity and respect for others. When Gary passed away in 1990, during his third year of teaching, his sense of empathy, fairness, and passion was missed. In Gary's memory, Community Colleges of Spokane (CCS) initiated an annual award to recognize a member of the CCS community who has furthered the cause of equity and diversity.

The award is based on three (3) criteria:

  1. A demonstrated commitment to the principles of equality and respect for others in the nominee's public and personal life.
  2. A commitment to fostering an appreciation for diversity and the strengths it brings to CCS; and
  3. A commitment to the mission of CCS "to provide a quality, multi-cultural, comprehensive, student-centered education and life-long learning opportunities accessible to all individuals who can benefit."

2017 DECCIO Award Winner

DECCIO Award Recipient
Recipient Darlene Rickett & CCS Chancellor Christine Johnson

2017 DECCIO Award Nominees and Recipient

Ramona Barhorst - SCC
Bonnie Brunt - SFCC
Norma Cantu - SCC
Sherri Carroll - SCC
Karen Clark - SCC (Posthumous)
Mark Doerr - SFCC (Retired)
Gordon Grove - SCC
Jeannie Isern - SCC
Dianne Oberst - SCC
Claudine Richardson - SFCC
Darlene Rickett - SFCC (RECIPIENT)
Robert Robinson - SFCC
Angela Smith (Finnie) - SCC
Katherine Thompson - CCS
Molly Thorpe - SFCC
Laura Woods - SFCC
Vance Youmans - SFCC