Social Sciences Department

Mission Statement

The Social Science Department supports the college mission by offering liberal arts/college transfer courses. The following list of department goals explains how the department sees its role in the institution’s educational program:

  • To provide freshman and sophomore level transfer courses in the social sciences to students with a wide variety of academic backgrounds and expectations
  • To foster in students the ability to critically read college level interpretations of historical and contemporary societies in the western and non-western world.
  • To give students knowledge of the nature of social science methodology and an appreciation of its strengths and limitations as an instrument of analysis.
  • To assist students to develop subtle judgments about inherently complex issues and to present that understanding in effective writing.
  • To help students understand themselves and others better so they can problem solve successfully and be more fulfilled.
  • To serve as a resource to others.

Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.


Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.

Amend, Dexter; Instructor Amend, Dexter; Instructor
024-0245
(509) 533-3587
Dexter.Amend@sfcc.spokane.edu
Service Learning in England
 
Andreasson, Karl; Instructor Andreasson, Karl; Instructor
024-0347
(509) 533-3613
Karl.Andreasson@sfcc.spokane.edu
Introduction to Psychology 101 Developmental Psychology
 
Clemons, Katie; Instructor Clemons, Katie; Instructor
024-0247
(509) 533-3589
Katie.Clemons@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
DeBolt, Katella; Instructor (Department Chair) DeBolt, Katella; Instructor (Department Chair)
024-0249
(509) 533-3585
Katella.DeBolt@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Glaze, Erin; Instructor Glaze, Erin; Instructor
024-0344
(509) 533-3583
Erin.Glaze@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Jozwiak, Joseph; Assistant Dean Jozwiak, Joseph; Assistant Dean
024-0108E
(509) 533-3694
Joseph.Jozwiak@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Levengood, Mark; Instructor Levengood, Mark; Instructor
024-0348
(509) 533-3586
Mark.Levengood@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Martin, Sarah; Instructor Martin, Sarah; Instructor
024-0250
(509) 533-3461
Sarah.Martin@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Matresse, Cathy; Instructor Matresse, Cathy; Instructor
024-0345
(509) 533-3468
Cathy.Matresse@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
McCormick, Cameron; Instructor McCormick, Cameron; Instructor
024-0252
(509) 533-3629
Cameron.McCormick@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Mittelstadt, Meike; Instructor Mittelstadt, Meike; Instructor
024-0246
(509) 533-3582
Meike.Mittelstadt@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Montgomery, Nicole; Instructor Montgomery, Nicole; Instructor
024-0346
(509) 533-3470
Nicole.Montgomery@sfcc.spokane.edu
History 117 History 136 Online
 
Pelham, Sabra; Instructor Pelham, Sabra; Instructor
024-0248
(509) 533-3463
Sabra.Pelham@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Ping, Ping; Instructor Ping, Ping; Instructor
024-0251
(509) 533-3580
Ping.Ping@sfcc.spokane.edu
Soc 101
 
Stafford, Melinda; Instructor Stafford, Melinda; Instructor
024-0346
(509) 533-3591
Melinda.Stafford@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Stenzel, Monica; Instructor Stenzel, Monica; Instructor
024-0344
(509) 533-3467
Monica.Stenzel@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Stiegemeier, Dylan; Political Science Instructor Stiegemeier, Dylan; Political Science Instructor
024-0242
(509) 533-3456
Dylan.Stiegemeier@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Suttle, George; History Instructor Suttle, George; History Instructor
024-0126
(509) 533-3454
George.Suttle@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Taylor, Kim; Instructor Taylor, Kim; Instructor
024-0342
(509) 533-3465
Kim.Taylor@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
Youmans, Vance; Instructor Youmans, Vance; Instructor
024-0350
(509) 533-3577
Vance.Youmans@sfcc.spokane.edu
 
 
   
Powered by Active Directory