Social Science Department

Mission Statement

The Social Science Department supports the college mission by offering liberal arts/college transfer courses. The following list of department goals explains how the department sees its role in the institution’s educational program:

  • To provide freshman and sophomore level transfer courses in the social sciences to students with a wide variety of academic backgrounds and expectations
  • To foster in students the ability to critically read college level interpretations of historical and contemporary societies in the western and non-western world.
  • To give students knowledge of the nature of social science methodology and an appreciation of its strengths and limitations as an instrument of analysis.
  • To assist students to develop subtle judgments about inherently complex issues and to present that understanding in effective writing.
  • To help students understand themselves and others better so they can problem solve successfully and be more fulfilled.
  • To serve as a resource to others.

Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.

Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
Service Learning in England Amend, Dexter; Instructor (509) 533-3587 24-245 Dexter.Amend@sfcc.spokane.edu
Introduction to Psychology 101 Developmental Psychology Andreasson, Karl; Instructor (509) 533-3613 24-347 Karl.Andreasson@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Clemons, Katie; Instructor (509) 533-3589 24-247 Katie.Clemons@sfcc.spokane.edu
  DeBolt, Katella; Instructor (509) 533-3585 24-249 Katella.DeBolt@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Glaze, Erin; Instructor (509) 533-3583 24-344 Erin.Glaze@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Husein, Tiffany; Instructor (509) 533-3469/7168 24-345 Tiffany.Husein@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Kratzer, Mike; Instructor (509) 533-3467 24-344 Mike.Kratzer@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Levengood, Mark; Instructor (509) 533-3586 24-348 Mark.Levengood@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Martin, Sarah; Instructor (509) 533-3461 24-250 Sarah.Martin@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Matresse, Cathy; Instructor (509) 533-3468 24-345 Cathy.Matresse@sfcc.spokane.edu
  McCormick, Cameron; Instructor (509) 533-3629 24-252 Cameron.McCormick@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Mittelstadt, Meike; Instructor (509) 533-3582 24-246 Meike.Mittelstadt@sfcc.spokane.edu
History 117 History 136 Online Montgomery, Nicole; Instructor (509) 533-3470 24-346 Nicole.Montgomery@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Pearl, David (509) 533-3513 24-340 David.Pearl@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Pelham, Sabra; Instructor (509) 533-3463 24-248 Sabra.Pelham@sfcc.spokane.edu
Soc 101 Ping, Ping; Instructor (509) 533-3580 24-251 Ping.Ping@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Stafford, Melinda; Instructor (509) 533-3591 24-346 Melinda.Stafford@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Stenzel, Monica; Instructor (509) 533-3467 24-344 Monica.Stenzel@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Suttle, George; History Instructor (509) 533-3454 024-0126 George.Suttle@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Taylor, Kim; Instructor (509) 533-3465 24-342 Kim.Taylor@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Tollefsbol, Elizabeth; Instructor (509) 533-3469 24-345 Elizabeth.Tollefsbol@sfcc.spokane.edu
Digital Recordings of Presentations for Outcomes 101 Tucker, Teri; Instructor (509) 533-3458 24-243 Teri.Tucker@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Tyler, Jacki; Adjunct Faculty (509) 332-2706 718-0305A Jacki.Tyler@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Youmans, Vance; Instructor (Department Chair) (509) 533-3577 24-350 Vance.Youmans@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory


Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.