SFCC

Life Sciences Department

Students interested in the Physical Therapist Assistant Program or the Occupational Therapy Program will find information at their websites.

Mission Statement

The Life Sciences Department mission is:

  1. To provide a diversified academic program for biological literacy that will serve students with a breadth of interests.
  2. To provide a resource and service to the greater educational community and the general community.
  3. To provide an environment for continued professional development of its faculty.

The Department seeks to contribute to the intellectual growth of students by developing biological literacy, developing skills in scientific reasoning, and teaching the manipulative skills of biology. Students from the department traditionally continue their education by transferring to other colleges or universities. The department offers courses serving students who plan careers in specific areas of biological sciences, in allied health professions, or to meet the general education science requirement for graduation. Such courses include offerings in biology, botany, zoology, ecology, nutrition, human anatomy and physiology, paleontology, and microbiology. Departmental faculty provide counseling and advising for students with career interests in life sciences as well as advising for general liberal arts curricula.

Life Sciences faculty also provide service to the community by participating in community based educational programs, professional certification, and volunteer social programs. These services include workshops, special lectures, K through 12 school presentations, programs in social service related areas, and by serving as advisors on boards of directors of civic organizations.

Life Sciences Faculty maintain active involvement in their disciplines. This commitment provides faculty the opportunity to continue professional development in their respective fields and to enhance the life science curricula.


Life Science Faculty

Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.

Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
Bio 241 A&P 1 Bio 242 A&P 2
Bio 280 Cadaver Prosection IMBD Bird Workshop
PTA/OTA 106 Regional Anatomy and Physiology
Blevins, Gary; Instructor (509) 533-3661 28-209 Gary.Blevins@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Boudreaux, Alistair; Instructor (509) 533-2706 718-213 Alistair.Boudreaux@sfcc.spokane.edu
Anatomy / Physiology 241 (BIOL&241) Anatomy / Physiology 242 (BIOL& 242)
BIOL 335 EWU Medical Microbiology
Brady, Gary; Instructor (509) 533-3426 28-112 Gary.Brady@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Brady, Jim; Dean of Computing Math and Science (509) 533-3680 18-110B Jim.Brady@sfcc.spokane.edu
Bio&160 Coles, Laurie; Instructor (509) 533-4141 28-114 Laurie.Coles@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Farrand, Allen; Instructor (509) 533-332-2706 718-213 Allen.Farrand@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Granner, Ralph (509) 533-3223 28-120 Ralph.Granner@sfcc.spokane.edu
Biology 241 Gross, John; Instructor (509) 533-4135 28-113 John.Gross@sfcc.spokane.edu
Biology Hansen, Laurel; Instructor (509) 533-3666 28-109 Laurel.Hansen@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Kirkpatrick, Rob; Instructor (509) 533-4150 28-115 Rob.Kirkpatrick@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Kirkpatrick, Ruth; Instructor (509) 533-4145 28-106 Ruth.Kirkpatrick@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Kuespert, Coulette; Administrative Assistant (509) 533-3660 18-110 Coulette.Kuespert@sfcc.spokane.edu
A&P 1 A&P 2
General Biology
Lacy, Thayne; Instructor (509) 533-4134 28-113 Thayne.Lacy@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Madsen, Melissa; Instructor (509) 533-4150 28-115 Melissa.Madsen@sfcc.spokane.edu
Biology 160 Biology 173 EWU
Microbiology 231 Microbiology 301 EWU
Microbiology 335 EWU
Matthew, Velma; Instructor (509) 533-4100 28-112 Velma.Matthew@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Parker, Jenifer (509) 533-3666 28-104A Jenifer.Parker@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Radke-Snead, Jessica; Instructor (509) 533-3664 28-115 Jessica.Radke-Snead@sfcc.spokane.edu
Biology/Ecology Rollins, Scott; Instructor (Department Chair) (509) 533-3665 28-110 Scott.Rollins@sfcc.spokane.edu
Biology 160 Micro 260
Timm, George; Instructor (509) 533-3667 28-108 George.Timm@sfcc.spokane.edu
  VanBredaKolff, Kris; Staff (509) 533-3223 28-118A Kris.VanBredaKolff@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Verdugo, Melody; Secretary Senior (509) 533-4321 28-123 Melody.Verdugo@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Wilson, Albert; Instructor (509) 533-4174 28-107 Albert.Wilson@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory


Life Science Courses

All course offerings are subject to change. The college cannot guarantee class offerings, designated times or specific instructors - as funding levels and student interest may affect whether or not an offering is available.

Click on the course title to view course description.

Botany

Class Credits

Environmental Science

Class Credits

Biology

Class Credits

Nutrition

Class Credits

Paleontology

Class Credits

Zoology

Class Credits